Interstate Aviation Committee (CIS) (IAC)

Interstate Aviation Committee (CIS) (IAC)


The Interstate Aviation Committee (IAC) or Межгосударственный авиационный комитет (MAK) is an executive body overseeing the use and management of civil aviation in the Commonwealth of Independent States. Its responsibilities include accident investigation in Member States. It was established in 1991 when twelve of the former Soviet Union signed the Intergovernmental Agreement on Civil Aviation and Use of Airspace. In 2013, membership is stated to be Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, the Russian Federation, Tadjikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine. The Committee is headquartered in Moscow, Russia.

Further Reading

For further information, see the MAK website


SKYbrary Partners:

Safety knowledge contributed by: