Transport Category Aircraft


For regulatory purposes, aircraft are categorised based on criteria such as the number of passenger seats, the type of propulsion, the maximum takeoff weight (MTOW) and the specified allowable aerobatic manouvers. The assigned category will be indicated on the Type Certificate.

Transport Category is applicable to large civil aeroplanes and large civil helicopters. Transport category aircraft include:

  • Jet powered aeroplanes with 10 or more seats or with a maximum takeoff weight (MTOW) greater than 5,670 kg (12,500 lb)
  • Propeller-driven aeroplanes with more than 19 seats or with a MTOW greater than 8,618 kg (19,000 lb)
  • Helicopters with a MTOW greater than 3,175 kg (7,000 lb)

Transport Category Aircraft are subject to additional regulatory requirements inclusive of:

Related Articles


SKYbrary Partners:

Safety knowledge contributed by: