Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB)

Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB)


The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) is an independent agency created by an act of Canada's Parliament in 1990 to advance safety by investigating occurrences in the air, marine, pipeline and rail modes of transportation. To ensure its independence, the TSB is separate from other government departments and reports to Canada’s Parliament through the president of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada.

The legislation that created the TSB was the Canadian Transportation Investigation and Safety Board Act.

The Board is comprised of five members, including the current chairperson, Kathy Fox. The TSB has a staff of about 220 led by the chief operating officer and Executive Committee.

The TSB's mandate is to advance safety in air, marine, pipeline, and rail transportation by:

  • Conducting independent investigations, including public enquiries when necessary, into selected transportation occurrences, in order to make findings regarding their causes and contributing factors;
  • Identifying safety deficiencies, as evidenced by transportation occurrences;
  • Making recommendations designed to eliminate or reduce such safety deficiencies; and
  • Reporting publicly on its investigations and findings.

Related Articles

Further Reading

For further information, visit the TSB website:


SKYbrary Partners:

Safety knowledge contributed by: